A very, nice attributable Fire Guard helmet to the Royal Ordnance Factory Patricroft.
Helmet has been attic stored and as such the exterior now have a light ‘film’ of surface rusting; the interior has more of the original grey paint finish untouched by storage.
Original head liner present, held in place by a black boot lace as was correct. (The lace has a break in it, see images).
Original lace chin band is absent.
To the helmet front is painted the ROF logo and factory location.
Brim underside is with scratched wearer initials and stamped maker details ‘RO & CO’ and date 1 41.
Dent an damage free, an iconic home front helmet, with the added attraction of being attributable.
A rare ‘type’ of helmet to be attributable to an institution.
The ‘Patricroft’ Royal Ordnance Factory was situated near Eccles, the City of Salford, Greater Manchester.
It was founded and owned by James Nasmyth and Holbrook Gaskell, forming the ‘Nasmyth, Gaskell & Co’ locomotive manufacturers. They stopped production in 1938 and ceased trading in 1940.
The Ministry of Supply took over the factory and converted it to a ROF facility, with production starting in Feb 1941.
The Factory produced parts for 40mm Bofors guns and tanks to enable steam locomotives to run on oil rather than coal.
It was privatised in 1984, and in 1988-89 sold off for development.
Their is an image of the factory site taken from the Bridgewater Canal side of the works with the helmet images (Image 10)…..This image is here only and not sold wit